Formed in 1951, the Vischer Ferry Fire District is located in the south central portion of the Town of Clifton Park, in Saratoga County, New York. The District encompasses 15.5 square miles with our southern border being the Mohawk River. The purpose of the fire district is to provide fire protection to the residents and properties within the boundries that were served by the Vischer Ferry Volunteer Fire Company. The Fire District is comprised of a board of 5 commissioners. Each year a public election is held to elect one officer for a five year term. Each year the district officers compose a budget and levy a tax on the property owners of the district. The tax dollars are used to purchase the necessary equipment for the services provided by the Vischer Ferry Volunteer Fire Company.